Winning Grants Book

Winning Grants, Second Edition: A How-To-Do-It Manual for Librarians, is a best seller available through ALA Editions and Amazon (affiliate link). If you are interested in republishing this content, please contact me and include a link to this blog. Thank you!

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

National Book Foundation’s Innovations in Reading Prize

Deadline: February 28, 2018

The National Book Foundation’s Innovations in Reading Prize awards $10,000 to an individual or organization that has developed an innovative project which creates and sustains a lifelong love of reading in the community they serve. In addition, the Foundation recognizes four projects to receive the designation of honorable mention. Both the winner and the honorable mentions are invited to participate in the Foundations’ annual Why Reading Matters Conference.

All U.S. citizens and American institutions are eligible for this prize. Examples include:
  • After-school and community-based programs
  • Non-profits such as museums and libraries
  • Startups focused on reading and literature
Applicants should:
  • Share the National Book Foundation’s mission to expand the audience for literature in America;
  • Focus on reading, and not exclusively literacy skills;
  • Demonstrate innovation in mission, approach, and/or audience/community served;
  • Apply for an existing program/project/initiative with evidence of success—as Innovations in Reading is a prize and not a grant, the goal is to reward work already underway, encouraging it to continue and/or expand.
You may submit your own application, or nominate an organization or individual's project. For more information and to apply, visit the website:

No comments: